Uncovering Security: Emerging Threats

The ThoThomson_Reuters_Foundation_logomson Reuters Foundation, in partnership with the Stanley Foundation and Gerda Henkel Stiftung, is launching a new programme which will support journalists to uncover emerging threats in specific communities, countries or regions worldwide, and bring these stories to a wide audience.

Uncovering Security: Emerging Threats provides a unique opportunity for collaboration. Participating journalists may choose to work in pairs or small teams and work on the same story together. They may also form partnerships with researchers who take part in the seminar – many of whom have experience gathering information ‘on the ground’ – to discover new leads, incorporate another story angle, or to deepen the content they produce.

Journalists must submit an online application before 12 July 2016 deadline.

The application requires journalists to submit a brief story idea. All story ideas must relate to an emerging security situation in a specific community, country or region in the world.

IWMF support to women journalists from around the world

Application open for June 1 – July 6, 2016

IWMF-Logo-2016_bAn applicant must be a woman journalist. If applicable, teams of journalists may apply, but the team leader must be a woman journalist and the group must include at least 50 percent women. About the Fund, The IWMF’s Howard G. Buffett Fund for Women Journalists is an incredible resource for talented reporters and will make a real difference in the field of journalism. Beginning in 2015 and continuing for the next ten years, the IWMF will make an annual total of $230,000 worth of grants to support women journalists in their projects and endeavors. The fund is not limited in either the grant dollar amount or the number of grants awarded within the annual total. The fund was designed to help women journalists from around the world by providing grantees support to


UNCA logo

The United Nations Correspondents Association (UNCA) invites media worldwide to submit entries for its 21st annual UNCA Awards for the best print, broadcast (TV & Radio) and online, web-based media coverage of the United Nations, U.N. agencies and field operations.  The prizes amount to over $60,000 to be distributed among the prize categories and winners.  The UNCA awards are open to all journalists anywhere in the world.  Deadline for submissions is:  September 1, 2016

The Awards are:

  1. The Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize, sponsored by the Alexander Bodini Foundation, for written media (including online media). The prize is for print and online coverage of the U.N. and U.N. agencies, named in honor of Elizabeth Neuffer, The Boston Globe bureau chief at the U.N., who died while on an assignment in Baghdad in 2003.
  2. The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize, for broadcast (TV & Radio) media. The prize is for broadcast coverage of the U.N. and U.N. agencies, named in honor of Ricardo Ortega, formerly the New York correspondent for Antena 3 TV of Spain, who died while on an assignment in Haiti in 2004.
  3. The Prince Albert II of Monaco and UNCA Global Prize for coverage of Climate Change. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV & Radio) for coverage of sustainable and equitable management of natural resources and the implementation of innovative and ethical solutions in three main categories: climate change, biodiversity, and water.
  4. The United Nations Foundation Prize. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV & Radio) for coverage of humanitarian and development aspects of the U.N. and U.N. agencies.- U.N. Correspondents Association

CCMP Fellowships to Attend the UN Climate Negotiations in Morocco

The Climate Change Media Partnershejntip (CCMP) led by Internews’ Earth Journalism Network has the pleasure to announce that we are opening Fellowship opportunities for journalists to attend the 22nd Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) being held in Marrakesh, Morocco.

Deadline for Application: July 8, 2016 at 5 pm EST

As part of the Fellowships, the CCMP will cover travel, lodging and daily subsistence expenses, help with the press accreditation process, and provide other support services. Please note that, although the costs for visa applications can be reimbursed, the process of obtaining a visa is a Fellow’s responsibility. Click CCMP Fellowships for details

Free Press Awards 2016

logoFree Press Unlimited announced  it’s second edition of the Free Press Awards, aims to celebrate the work of the best journalists and media professionals. Free Press Unlimited wants people to have access to reliable information they need to develop and prosper. The organisation support journalists worldwide to make stories be told.

The awards will be conferred at the International Day to End Impunity conference on 2 November 2016 and will recognise exceptional work in the following two categories: Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

The deadline for entries is 1 September 2016.

Click Free Press Awards for details